Were people happier before?

26 Aug

Many people discuss whether people lived happier lives 100 years ago, 5000 years ago, 10 000 years ago. Were they happier than us? Did they live more valuable lives? Some people would say they did, some would say they didn’t. What do you think? Do you think that 5000 years ago, when people ran around in clothes made from animal skin trying to find food to last throughout the winter, fighting dangers, almost freezing to death, working hard, and had next to nothing, do you think they lived better lives? Do you think, 100 years ago, when they lived in tiny appartments consisting on a kitchen and a bedroom, all shared between one or two families or 4+ people, and worked in factories and coal mines from early dawn to late at night, who could barely afford food, do you think they lived better lives? Do you think our lives are better now, that we have all these things to make us comfortable, like computers, work, lots of money, free education, make-up, clothes, jewelry, nice cars, big houses and shoes filling a whole closet? I know that not everyone have this much money, I’m probably exaggerating, but most people now do have a very comfortable life. At least in the modernized countries.

I have a theory, I have concluded for myself, that I think that people before had a better life. Not 100 years back, but 5000. I think it was harder physically, but so much easier mentally. With little worries and less.. things. I think they were able to appreciate the little things a lot more than you and I do. And you STILL find people living like they did 5000 years ago. Do you think that is a coincidence? Why haven’t they fallowed? There’s probably a reason don’t you think?

But this is only my opinion, as is for now. It can change, and I would also love to hear what you think. Comment! : )

(I wrote this yesterday actually, and a lot more than what is here, and probably better explained, but then I got an error message saying something about auto save not working and then it was all deleted, I can’t find it anywhere, not even in my drafts, and I was rather annoyed, so I wrote a shorter version, and I may or may not have been able to say what I was going to clearly. I appologize for that.) But please comment anyway, and tell me your opinion! There are no real right or wrongs, so just say your opinions! <3

One Response to “Were people happier before?”

  1. an idiot abroad December 20, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I cherished what you have got performed here. The format is stylish, your written material elegant. Nonetheless, you’ve got obtained an edginess to what you’ll be offering the subsequent. Ill certainly arrive back again but once more for a good deal substantially far more in case you protect this up. Dont do away with hope if not at the similar time many males and women see your imaginative and prescient vision, know you might have attained a fan appropriate the next who beliefs what you can have received to say together with the way you’ve got presented by your self. Quite beneficial on you!

Leave a Reply

