Honey-Olive oil-and-sugar scrub

16 Aug

Remember how I told you I made this scrub yesterday? Well, I’m going to tell you what I think of it. First of all, I got the recipe from surfing around on youtube looking for make-up tutorials when I found some movies from a girl I liked pretty well; Rice Bunny. I continued watching her videos, and she had one on dry skin. Well, my skin is rather dry, and nothing seems to work all that well. Which was her exact problem too, it turns out, from watching the movie. She filmed herself making it, and listed all the ingredients.
All you need is:
3 tbs of extra virgin olive oil
2 tbs of organic honey
1/2 cup of sugar (No splenda!)
You mix them all together and WA-LA you have your facial scrub. Use at night, once or twice a week, depending on your skin type. For a more detailed description of this, here is Michelle Phan’s, also known as Rice Bunny, youtube video upload:

Well, my review of this home made scrub. It doesn’t particularly look, nor smell really great. It smells kind of like a mix between Olive oil and honey. Not too surprising. The smell isn’t all too strong though, but it’s there. Um, also, try and use honey that you can actually pour into the tablespoons, because mine was not liquid enough, and it made the whole thing just a little bit too sticky, in my opinion. Now, I have super sensitive skin, but I found that this home made scrub worked quite nicely. It was a little sore when I scrubbed my face, but I think parts of it was because of the sticky honey, but it did not hurt anything afterwards, once I rinsed off. Nothing. Which, previously, with normal soaps, it stings and burns a little. I have been using Proactive for the longest time, but I had to switch to the gentle formula because the regular one was too strong. And because of this sticky sticky honey you would think it would be hard to rinse off right? I have to admit I was rather skeptical when I was going to try this, but it was not at all difficult to remove. I splashed my face with water a couple times to rinse off the worst of it and all the sugar and stuff, and then I wetted a cloth to just get the extra stuff that would happen to be left (though I don’t think there was anything). Afterwards, my skin did smell a little like homey, but for those of you who can’t stand that smell, it disappears overnight, the little there might have been. But it leaves your skin feeling nice and refreshed and so smooth. It works for oily skin too, and the Olive oil won’t clog your pores, because the molecules in the oil are too big to clog your pores. So there you go. If you ever try this, tell me what you think!

Edit: I don’t know why the video won’t show up, so I liked to it right here.

Leave a Reply

