19 Jun

I posted a post about elephants this morning, which reminded me of a book I read not too long ago: Water for Elephants. By Sara Gruen.

It is a totally amazing book, and I had the first page memorized for the longest time because it was so funny. The whole book was amazing, and while reading I was dragged into the world of Jacob Jankowski. It got me interested. I really really recommend it to all of those who haven’t read it yet. And if you know me, I own the book, and you may feel free to borrow it from me, and I’ll gladly lend you.

Anyway, my point was, there are a couple really great quotes from that book:

“Age is a terrible thief. Just when you’re getting the hang of life, it knocks your legs out from under you and stoops your back. It makes you ache and muddies your head and silently spreads cancer throughout your spouse.” (p. 12)

“Although there are times I’d give anything to have her back, I’m glad she went first. Losing her was like being cleft down the middle. It was the moment it all ended for me, and I wouldn’t have wanted her to go through that. Being the survivor stinks.” (p. 13)

“Dear God. Not only am I unemployed and homeless, but I also have a pregnant woman, bereaved dog, elephant, and eleven horses to take care of.”

“When two people are meant to be together, they will be together. It’s fate.”

“I look after those who look after me.” He smacks his lips, stares at me, and adds, “I also look after those who don’t.”

Here is part of the first page that I memorized :

“When you are five, you know your age down to the month. Even in your twenties, you know how old you are. I’m twenty-three you say, or maybe twenty-seven. But then in your thirties, something strange starts to happen. It is a mere hiccup at first, an instant of hesitation. How old are you? Oh, I’m–you start confidently, but then you stop. You were going to say thirty-three, but you are not. You’re thirty-five. And then you’re bothered, because you wonder if this is the beginning of the end. It is, of course, but it’s decades before you admit it.”

4 Responses to “”

  1. Jorge June 20, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    I loved that book! I’m glad I read it ^^

    • Mari June 20, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      I know right, and come to think how it was me who recommended it to you ; P
      Did you recognize the quotes?

      • Jorge June 20, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

        Yup! Especially the first two, and the first page of the book that it feels like you’ve told me at least 7 times ; P

      • Mari June 20, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

        I know right : )
        I loved that first page.

Leave a Reply

